Novels of Dick Francis

dick francis

Dick Francis was a writer of crime fiction, usually involving horse-racing themes. He was born in 1920 and he died in 2010. In 1996 Francis was made a Mystery Writers of America Grand Master for lifetime achievement, and in 2000 he received the CBE (Commander of British Empire) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. Francis was awarded the Crime Writers' Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for outstanding contribution to the crime genre. He received an honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters from Tufts University.

(Click on the column headers to sort.)

YearTitleMain characterNotes
1957The Sport of Queens(Autobiography)
1962Dead CertAlan YorkBasis of the movie “Dead Cert” (1974)
1964NerveRob FinnBasis of the audio drama Breaking Point starring Michael Kitchen
1965For KicksDaniel Roke
1965Odds AgainstSid Halley (#1)Edgar Award nominee
1966Flying FinishHenry GreyEdgar Award nominee
1967Blood SportGene HawkinsEdgar Award nominee
1968ForfeitJames TyroneEdgar Award winner
1969EnquiryKelly Hughes
1969Best Racing and Chasing Storiesanthology with John Welcome
1970Rat RaceMatt Shore
1971BonecrackNeil Griffon
1972SmokescreenEdward Lincoln
1973Slay RideDavid Cleveland
1974KnockdownJonah Dereham
1975High StakesSteven Scott
1976In the FrameCharles Todd
1977RiskRoland Britten
1978Trial RunRandall Drew
1979Whip HandSid Halley (#2)Edgar Award winner, Gold Dagger winner
1980ReflexPhilip Nore
1981Twice ShyJonathan Derry
1982BankerTim Ekaterin
1983The DangerAndrew Douglas
1984ProofTony Beach
1985Break InKit Fielding (#1)
1986BoltKit Fielding (#2)
1986A Jockey’s Lifebiography of Lester Piggott
1987Hot MoneyIan Pembroke
1988The EdgeTor Kelsey
1989StraightDerek Franklin
1989Great Racing Storiesanthology with John Welcome
1990LongshotJohn Kendall
1990Dick Francis Treasury of Great Racing Storiesanthology with John Welcome
1991ComebackPeter Darwin
1992Driving ForceFreddie Croft
1992More Great Racing Storiesanthology with John Welcome
1989The New Treasury of Great Racing Storiesanthology with John Welcome
1993DeciderLee Morris
1994Wild HorsesThomas Lyon
1995Come to GriefSid Halley (#3)Edgar Award winner
1995Reflex / Comebackomnibus
1996To the HiltAlexander Kinloch
1996Dead Cert / Nerve / For Kicksomnibus
199710 LB. PenaltyBen Juliard
1997Decider / Wild Horses / Come to Griefomnibus
1998Field of 13short stories
1999Second WindPerry Stuart
1999Enquiry / Rat Race / Smokescreenomnibus
1999Forfeit / Risk / Reflexomnibus
1999Longshot / Straight / High Stakesomnibus
2000ShatteredGerard Logan
2000Slay Ride / Banker / Proofomnibus
2001Shattered / Second Wind / 10 LB. Penaltyomnibus
2002Odds Against / Whip Hand / Come to GriefSid Halley omnibus
2003Twice Shy / The Dangeromnibus
2003The Dick Francis Complete Treasury of Great Racing Storiesanthology with John Welcome
2003Break In / BoltKit Fielding omnibus
2004The Dick Francis CompanionDean James & Jean Swanson
2004Blood Sport / Nerve / In the FrameWin, Place, & Show omnibus
2006Under OrdersSid Halley (#4)
2007Dead HeatMax Moretonwith Felix Francis
2008SilksGeoffrey Masonwith Felix Francis
2009Even MoneyNed Talbotwith Felix Francis
2010CrossfireCaptain Tom Forsythwith Felix Francis